PDA

View Full Version : How Low Can You Go in 30-06 ?

QC4thee
07-07-2010, 10:01 PM
I am getting ready to start loading for my new (old) 1903A3. I shot some HXP today and the recoil is not severe but I'm 66 and I've already been beat up a few times in my life...no need to make it self-inflected....:)

Anybody shooting a bullet in the 120 - 130 grain range in their bolt guns??

And if so what powder and minimum load do you use ??

99% of my shooting will be from a bench and I want to have fun without having to deal with the recoil from 50+ rounds....

I have read about shoulder pads that people use but I have no experience with these so my first choice is to load low...

Your experiences and advice is appreciated...:)

budseven
07-07-2010, 10:40 PM
One of my ways to deal with a lot of different loads in rifles is to use one of the several rifle cradles which use lead bags or sand on the cradle to soak up the recoil. I believe one of the more common cradles is called the "lead sled". Using this type of recoil reduction, I can shoot as much as I wish without knocking my shoulder off. Hope this helps. Bud

QC4thee
07-07-2010, 11:18 PM
I'll check into those, Bud. Thanks.

Every now and then I do like to shoot standing for a while at 50 yds. just to see how bad I have become. It's not so bad with a Garand with the extra weight but I'm new to 1903's and I was surprised at how light they are.

I have seen some posts where people have loaded 125 gr. bullets for their Garands so I am sure a lighter load would be more comfortable in a bolt gun...

JohnF
07-07-2010, 11:40 PM
Do yourself a favor. If you are going to reload, why don't you shoot reduced loads with a good 150 grain bullet. One of the best reduced loads listed is 20.0 to 24.0 grains MAX of IMR SR4759 powder for a 150 grain bullet. This load is easy to shoot and is accurate. It was last listed in the #12 Speer manual.