PDA

View Full Version : New M5A1 bayonet: how sharp should they be?

ender
08-04-2010, 10:16 AM
Hi all,

I just received my "new / unissued" bayonet from the CMP. I received a MIL PAR COL M5A1 inside a TWB M8A1 scabbard. Condition over all seems pretty good, although the handle appears to have more wear than I would have expected for "new unissued".

Anyway, my question is this: how sharp should the blade be? I'm sure that the point is quite sharp and this would be good for poking things (people), however the blade is not terribly sharp - I certainly wouldn't want to be cutting vegetables with it. :) Now I understand that this knife wasn't created to cut vegetables, but since I'm a complete beginner with respect to bayonets, what was the desired sharpness? After being issued a bayonet would they be used as-is by the soldier or were they intended to be sharpened? How sharp should the blade be? Any and all information is much appreciated!

DaveE
08-04-2010, 12:11 PM
Most "collectors", consider a bayonet that has been sharpened to be of lesser value.

Dave

ender
08-04-2010, 03:51 PM
To clarify, does that mean that a new / unissued bayonet is supposed to come un-sharpened / dull? That would explain the lack luster cutting edge of mine.

Or do you mean that re-sharpening an old bayonet reduces its value? Or both?

ender
08-04-2010, 03:58 PM
For those interested, I've now posted pictures of it here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/end42/sets/72157624654275742

drywash
08-04-2010, 04:28 PM
If i had been in Korea facing thousands of chinese, I would have sharpened it with a flat file and could have cared less about value, just my life. Today ,yes it lowers collectors value.

m1ashooter
08-04-2010, 06:04 PM
Most bayonets are made to stick things verses cutting things. I've never had much luck keeping a sharp edge on my bayonets, a M4 and M6 .

captaincalc
08-04-2010, 06:22 PM