CMP Forums

CMP Forums (http://forums.thecmp.org/index.php)
-   CMP Bolt Action Rifles (http://forums.thecmp.org/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   Help Identifying My 1903 (http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=230884)

Logman 07-08-2018 10:30 AM

Help Identifying My 1903

I have had this rifle for some time now however I have never disassembled or shot it. Since it was 110 degrees out here yesterday I decided to examine it closely. I'm a fair student of the 1903 but there are some things that have me stumped. Here is what I know (or think I know):
-Serial number 949564 puts the receiver at 1918 production
-Barrel date is 7-18 with an added A meaning that is was acceptable when it went thru a rebuild
-Triple cartouche= original 1918 WES, SA/SPG late 30's rebuild, CSAA San Antonio arsenal post WW2 rebuilt / check and test
-Triple proof marks on wrist for each arsenal generation
-Looks to be original cocking piece and bolt sleeve to the 1918 production
-N.S. Bolt probably from the SA/SPG arsenal
-Parkerized finish applied along the way ?
-Split front sling swivel probably original
-H marked bayo lug probably original
-Remington trigger and elevation piece probably from San Antonio arsenal
-NO Hatcher hole
-NO front sight blade numbers
What I don't know:
-What manufacture is the sear? I see what appears to be a 2 but I don't know
-Note the numbers stamped on barrel, these are under the wood and about 8 inches back. What are these?