CMP Forums

CMP Forums (http://forums.thecmp.org/index.php)
-   Ammunition (http://forums.thecmp.org/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   AP core Photo request - please help a student :) (http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=59100)

Likon 11-09-2011 09:03 AM

AP core Photo request - please help a student :)

Gentelmen a have to ask you for help. I am a student of Warsaw University of Technology and I am writing a thesis for my Master of Science in Engineering degree. The topic is :"Evolution of armor piercing penetrators." I registered here because forum members here have milions of AP projectiles, and I am in need for photo documentation of 30.06 penetrator cores. It it one of the examples a write about and my promotor wants tons of photos of penetrator cores (he is a bit weird:rolleyes:). I have all the photos that I was able to find via google from this site and others.
Could you please post any and all photos of ap cores that you have in your posesion? American, canadian, AYR, FN any photos are highly aprreciated.
The cores that you have maybe from a sectioned bullet, or recovered from the target. If you know please write from what manufacturer the bullet was.(LC,DEN,AYR....)
MUCH THANKS in advance for any help !!!:)

raymeketa 11-09-2011 11:20 AM

Here is a photo of three AP bullets that I sectioned to show the cores.

Left is a Cal .30 (30-06) M2.

Center and right are bullets from the development of the 7.62mm NATO cartridges, showing two different core shapes and two methods of closing the base. The T29 was adopted as the 7.62mm NATO M 61 AP.

These bullets were all manufactured by Frankford Arsenal, U.S.A.
http://i41.tinypic.com/140aqvm.jpg

Likon 11-11-2011 12:43 PM

Mr. Raymeketa Thank you for the photo. I have found it earlier via google image search but thank you anyway.

It is nice to compare the better bullet to the crappy one. The one of many mistakes of US military when adopting ordnance. Choosing the inferior design...