Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1A/M14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-12-2019, 08:50 PM

Default M14 Newbi questions

Hi all, I'm new to the M14 platform and have a couple questions for the wise ones here. I picked up one of the Dupage M14 kits based on you guy's excitement and my desire to jump into the M14 pool. I’m a M1 Garand guy, so some of this platform is familiar to me. It came with an H&R trigger housing and sight base, the rest of the parts are unmarked as far as I can tell. I really like the idea of building a USGI clone. I located a nice H&R 12-60 barrel for a good price. Then decided to go the JRA H&R heeled receiver route and am currently on the waiting list. I’m sending the parts kit to Shuff’s for Parkerizing and refinish so everything will look new like the receiver. I will send the refinished barrel to JRA for install on the new receiver. JRA has a bunch of H&R heels. I’m not a competitive marksman and probably won’t be putting an optic on it, so USGI accuracy is good enough for my old eyes. I will also install a Hawk selector kit. I’m looking for something as close as possible to what would be handed to a GI in RVN.

So here are a couple questions.

With a 12-60 barrel date and assuming an early ’61 assembly date, what would be a serial range for the receiver heel?

What would be a correct H&R bolt? I’m in the market for one and will be putting an ad in the market place. Hopefully I can locate one that headspaces correctly.

I got 3 magazines with the barrel. Any opinions?

One is marked C.M.I. and looks brand new with dark dry park.

The other 2 are unmarked and look exactly the same, brand new, charcoal park with old cosmoline, one is in the foil lined bag. It’s marked Ludlow Corp. Laminating and Coating Division, Marvelseal 1312, Lot No. H-6191, 12-82. There’s another mark: Intl. Plastic Products, Foil Craft 1312, 4/83 (bag manufacturer?)

Any advice, opinions, etc. will be appreciated.