Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-05-2013, 07:54 PM

Exclamation M1903A3 AIM Surplus

Well I bought one and I do not know if I should be satisfied or upset. Now first off I wanted a decent shooter and I was not looking solely as collector value and I figured this would be the route to take. Well I have a bunch of pictures and what I expected was mostly original parts minus the barrel when I took it apart. Well many of the pieces are reproduction which I was not expecting but that is not where it gets bad. I remember reading about welded drill rifles and to my surprise, I believe this is one of them. Before I bought this from AIM Surplus, I searched on the net and most people said they are a quality built rifle and not rewelded drill rifles. Now being I'm new to these rifles, should I expect this for the price I paid? Basically, should I call them up and complain or this is what to be expected when buying one of these? http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.aspx?item=F3S1903A3SS

Thanks, James

Old 04-05-2013, 09:03 PM

Yes, it's a reactivated drill rifle manufactured by the Gibbs Rifle Co., a subsidiary of Navy Arms. I'm assuming most of the comments you found on the errornet came from people who know little to nothing about the 1903 platform and simply wanted something new looking to play Saving Private Ryan with. I've seen several of these and wouldn't pay half of the asking price, especially when a genuine unmolested '03A3 can be had in the same price range with a little effort. The receiver finish on the ones I've seen isn't parkerizing, but rather one of the common bake-on finishes like Duracoat. Generally they're substandard copies of a mediocre wartime expedient rifle. If you haven't fired it yet you should contact AIM about a return and refund, then search for the genuine article.
Old 04-05-2013, 09:42 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PKelly View Post