Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Carbine
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2009, 01:02 PM
austinmike austinmike is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
Default Gas piston question

My Standard Products racker arrived with the gas piston nut very loose. All my other carbines have been staked tightly. Is this anything to worry about or should I just get a gas piston wrench and tighten it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2009, 01:30 PM
bullseye1x bullseye1x is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: WNY
Posts: 40
Default

I would just get the wrench and tighten it up. You'll be good to go. You might want to check on the tightness after a while to see if it's going to be a recurring problem and restake if needed. The wrench is also nice to have handy for future use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:28 AM
1hdrocks 1hdrocks is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 734
Default

+1 on Tuna's answer. If ya find you end up w several carbines you'll probably end up using the wrench now and then. If you find the nut continues to loosen, restake it or use a very small amount of loctite. I have a couple that were loose and after tightening with the wrench I've had no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2009, 06:45 PM
Jet Fixer Jet Fixer is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 735
Default

Just keep an eye on it. Shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 PM.