Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Garand
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2017, 09:42 PM
brooktrout brooktrout is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Default M1D scope mount

I just got a hold of a G.I. M1D mount, threads are good on the screw, however, I've heard about the nightmares of people accidentally going to far with them and ruining the threads. I know their supposed to be hand tight but hand tight is a pretty general term. For those who are fortunate to have theirs set up already, any advise as to how tight I should actually tighten the mount down?

-brooktrout
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2017, 10:05 PM
Kansasbobcat Kansasbobcat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 183
Default M1D mount

Finger tight you cannot strip the thraeds. Use no tools.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2017, 10:27 PM
bluecar bluecar is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Kansas
Posts: 57
Default

brooktrout,

Congrats on finding one.

I'm still on the hunt.

Any chance your source had a second one ?

Thanks,
BC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2017, 12:57 AM
SFCDave SFCDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,273
Default

Tighten it by hand until you can't turn it anymore. As long as your threads are good to go you won't strip it by hand tightening. As stated by Kansasbobcat...no tools, they aren't necessary for a USGI mount.

Since you have a mount I assume you have an M1D. We like pics on this forum...hint, hint.

Welcome to the sickness and the forum. Lots of good info to be had here.

Last edited by SFCDave; 02-17-2017 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2017, 10:43 PM
lapriester lapriester is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cobb, N California
Posts: 14,364
Default

Install the mount loosely, then push down hard on the top and hand tighten the knob. With a USGI mount that's all that should be necessary. The first step is the one most people, that find their mount rocks, forget to do. It's critical that the "tabs" on the top of the mount are in full contact with the top of the block.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2017, 03:22 PM
brooktrout brooktrout is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks, this is all good information!

-brooktrout
__________________
-brooktrout
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.