Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-11-2017, 02:02 PM

Default Bolt closes tight on Greek ammo

I rebarreled an M1903A3 with a NOS barrel from 1944. As expected, the chamber was short, so I finished it with a reamer. The bolt closes easy on a go gauge, closes snug on commercial ammo, and closes tight on CMP surplus Greek HXP ammo. From searching the 'net, I see this is not uncommon.

I have no experience with bolt actions, so I was wondering if there was any harm or danger in shooting the Greek ammo.
Old 07-11-2017, 02:24 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by von_landstuhl View Post
I rebarreled an M1903A3 with a NOS barrel from 1944. As expected, the chamber was short, so I finished it with a reamer. The bolt closes easy on a go gauge, closes snug on commercial ammo, and closes tight on CMP surplus Greek HXP ammo. From searching the 'net, I see this is not uncommon.

I have no experience with bolt actions, so I was wondering if there was any harm or danger in shooting the Greek ammo.
My thoughts only. If your bolt closes all the way, shoot away. But you need to look first. Might be a problem if you want to extract an unfired round, like stuck or pulling the cart out and leaving the bullet it in the barrel.

Could you ream the chamber just a little more?

BTW, my first son was born up the hill at Landstuhl in 1971. I was there too for the event as I started it all.

Had 136 Pos feedbacks on the old system, in over two hundred transactions. They went poof. Please post your feedback here: http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=200241
Old 07-11-2017, 02:38 PM

For the OP, I'm thinking that HXP 77 is the culprit perhaps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kansas Poster View Post
[...] Could you ream the chamber just a little more?
Wouldn't alter the rifle for just that - tight chambers are kinda nice for the most part.

Last edited by Kestrel4k; 07-11-2017 at 02:40 PM.
Old 07-11-2017, 02:40 PM