Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > National Match AR
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 06-21-2019, 03:40 PM

Default Getting Started w/ NM A2

Hello! I just purchased a very nice NM A2 from forum member Mike in Wis. This will be my first brand new rifle in probably 25 years so it is pretty exciting. Since I am new to the AR platform and service rifle I have a few kick off questions.

For service rifle competition what size magazines are recommended? In other forums I have read that 20 are usually the go-to, but unsure if it really matters. I live in Maryland which is a state that limits mag capacity shipped or sold in state to 10 rounds, however it is legal for me to purchase 20 round mags in person out of state and then carry them across state lines in my possession. (Donít ask, I donít understand either). If 20 round mags are necessary or highly preferred I can still get them with some inconvenience. Iíd also be interested in recommendations for mag brands since I am ignorant in this area.

While I did compete in three position smallbore at one time, that was quite a few years ago and my positions will need work. Probably a lot of work. Iíd appreciate any recommendations on decent practice ammo with reloadable brass. Iíll be practicing at 100 or 200 yards and the barrel is 1:7 twist. From my own research it seems like Frontier 223 Remington 68 Grain Hornady Hollow Point Boat Tail Match might be worth a try, but Iíd be interested in what others do.

Thank you for the help -Joe
Old 06-21-2019, 05:08 PM

I uses standard USGI 20 round mags,
I have 2 that I use for rapids (loaded 2 and 8) and one with a single fire sled mounted in it,

usually a spare 20 round in the stool or rifle case just in case one breaks

when I used to shoot regularly, Black Hills was a go to for factory loaded ammo, may want to check them out
Old 06-21-2019, 05:33 PM

I prefer the 20’s so they don’t interfere with the ground or jacket like 30’s will.
CMP HP Master