Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP General > CMP North Store
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-02-2012, 12:21 PM

Default ??? about buying a rifle at the CMP north store,,, its my first time.

hello, i will be makin my first trip to the north store soon to buy my first garand and was wanting everyone's input... Any special i should look for like certian serial numbers that are more desirable or barrels with certian dates?? i know i want all usgi wood, i like the patinia and history.. i plan on only purchasing one rifle but have been told bring enough money for two, also is it like my local gun store where if i pick out a rifle i can have 90 days to pay for it or is it an all at once deal?? I know ill probably be overwhelmed with joy and excitement ill want more then one and some additional equipment... its a 9-10hr ride for me so i want to make the best of it and would really like anyones suggestions... thanks again Joe
Old 10-02-2012, 12:32 PM

The guys behind the counter are a huge help! And read the forums.
Old 10-02-2012, 12:40 PM

Send a message via AIM to Shomway

You need to do your own research and determine what you want...an SA, HRA, or a WRA rifle....Service Grade or Field Grade. Do you want a shooter or a collector piece...safe queen? CMP dosnt do layaways so bring cash or a credit card. Nice USGI wood is getting harder and harder to find in the stores, so you might have to settle for a rifle with nice metal and good ME and TE but a new stock. Read the store reports and determine when the best time to go since you have a long drive. You can also give the North Store a call and ask what is available at that time...419-635-2141 Ext. 1117...that Ext. should get you to the guys at the counter. Good luck and get ready to be overwhelmed.
Old 10-02-2012, 04:16 PM