Go Back   CMP Forums > Welcome Center > New Member Section
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 08-09-2016, 12:20 PM

Default New member here. Sharing a pic of my War Baby.

Hello everyone. Have owned firearms since I was big enough to hold one. I am new to vintage military firearms having just been offered a '43 M1A1 Carbine by a family friend. I have learned a lot about these in the last month. Looking forward to the experience of those who have been collecting a while.

Not sure if the forum is just for CMP purchased items or not but would be happy to post my pics of it disassembled showing markings if anyone is interested. Is there a thread for that?

Stay alert and safe. <0

Old 08-09-2016, 03:10 PM

I am certainly not any kind of an expert in this field but I believe you have a treasure there.
Old 08-09-2016, 04:18 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the forum and the community, crazy as it can be!

Looks like a nice M1A1, and YES...you can post/ask away about your carbine here (or Garand, or 1903, or Krag, or...well, you get the idea!).
And a good place to do so as there are some extremely knowledgeable and helpful folks here, which is good as the carbine is a weapon very ripe for repro parts/forgery, unfortunately. Given the higher inherent value of M1A1s, fakes/forgeries can be even more acute.

But, just start a thread in the carbine section, here...
http://forums.thecmp.org/forumdisplay.php?f=6

Appears you have mastered photo-hosting...
As you mention, break it down and take good detailed photos of everything, including any marks on the stock...look at the bottom of the grip for a small ordnance stamp.
Make sure to note the manufacturer and serial #.

And you can send in a request to CMP to see if they previously possessed and/or sold that carbine.
From their main page FAQ...

Q?
WILL THE CMP RESEARCH A SERIAL NUMBER TO SEE IF IT HAD EVER BEEN SOLD BY THE DCM OR CMP?

A.