Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-14-2019, 04:08 PM

Default Crown on Sedgley '03 barrels

I'm a novice to '03s, and have a couple of questions about some Sedgley barrels I have (I am well aware of the Sedgley bent/straightened issue and none of these have been bent). The barrels are NOS.
First question: The crown on the Sedgley barrels is almost flat. Is this detrimental to their accuracy, and if so is there benefit to re-crowning them?
Second question: I have installed only one of these Sedgley barrels, and after trying several different bolts I still had to ream it just a bit to get it it to go to battery on the "GO" gauge. Should I expect this on the other Sedgley barrels, or is this just unique to this particular barrel?
Thanks.
Old 09-14-2019, 05:02 PM

Default The crown on the Sedgley barrels...

is not detrimental to accuracy, if in good condition, and there should be no need to re-crown them.
All 1903 government and contractor-made replacement/spare barrels are short-chambered, and must be reamed to correct headspace when installed if the receiver and bolt are both within gauge for serviceable parts.

mhb - MIke
Old 09-14-2019, 05:05 PM

A lot of WWII production 03 barrels are a little flat in the crown department.
Old 09-14-2019, 05:27 PM