Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Garand
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-13-2019, 09:23 PM

Default HRA 4.66M Garand

FWIW - I recently, with poster PH68’s help, picked up this HRA 46611xx Garand at the south store. I posted some information on the store weekend report, but I thought others may find it interesting. I’m new to Garands and since the purchase have researched early HRAs. Seems like things had not settled out and differences have been noted in which parts were used in the early days. Hopefully this is an interesting data point for HRA experts. I have made no changes to this gun.

https://www.amazon.com/photos/shared...pballoV23AmoU0

All of the parts seem to match well in color. It has the backwards 3 ampersand. It has a HRA N trigger group with a HRA 5546008 hammer, HRA safety with a no wing plunger. HRA elevation sight, DRC windage. D6528287 HRA U bolt.

The HRA barrel (in the white) is dated 2/54. Gas cylinder and screw seem to be HRA. The op rod is a 6535382 SA, which would not be correct even considering early HRAs used war-time SA op rods. It has a CMP stock.

Overall, a very nice gun that I’m happy to own.

Last edited by Plantnut; 10-13-2019 at 09:26 PM.
Old 10-14-2019, 09:49 AM

Wouldn't a HRA )-( trigger group housing be correct for a 4.66? I believe so, either way nice find and cudos to PH68 for all his wonderful reports. I've been to the north store 3x and south store 4x but never aquired a win-13
Old 10-14-2019, 10:09 AM

Great score!!!!! A 4.66 HRA is a great addition to any collection.
Old 10-14-2019, 01:52 PM

You may appreciate my old thread.
http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=218036
Old 10-14-2019, 06:52 PM

I'm no expert but I will throw out my opinion on this rifle. I own two
early 4.66 HRAs and have done a lot of reading about the early HRAs.