Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1A/M14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2012, 01:28 PM
HoosierNative HoosierNative is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 267
Default ME/TE gauge

Are you guys using the same .30 cal ME/TE gauges I use for the Garand?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2012, 02:24 PM
hammonje hammonje is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Union, KY
Posts: 4,526
Default

The MW yes....throat erosion not sure. TE is .308 and 30.06 specific I think.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2012, 02:47 PM
Perplexed Perplexed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 3,141
Default

How do you use the MW gauge if the flash hider is installed?
__________________
Put your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute. THAT'S relativity. -- Albert Einstein

Please leave feedback here: http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=33711
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2012, 03:32 PM
hammonje hammonje is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Union, KY
Posts: 4,526
Default

You take it off. Or I just gauge the MW prior to index/headspace. Shouldn't change too much if using a telfon coated rod. Throat will. You know more than me so this is clear to you already. Most applicable when buying a takeoff/new barrel and for sales descrptions of barrels.

They do vary some. The new SAI takeoff I bought from JD had a MW of 1.5 and a TE of 0, while my new Criterion barrels were all MW<0 and TE 0.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2012, 07:48 PM
M1Garandy M1Garandy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 885
Default

My TE gauge has three spacers. One for .30-'06 bolt guns one for .30-'06 M1's and one for M14/7.62 NATO Garands.

It is made by Ara-Mor I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2012, 09:03 PM
ernie ernie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southwest Michigan , USA
Posts: 1,413
Default

TE gage for M14's is much shorter than the M1 which is shorter than the Springfield. Bronells used to sell a complete set that had all three seperate inserts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2012, 12:34 PM
M14 M14 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: south mississippi
Posts: 811
Default

I have all the gauges, but what I use is a bright light, lots of hoppes bore cleaner and copper remover, and a battle pack of ammo. I clean to bare bore, sometimes taking 4-6 hours, done properly on a badly used rifle. Then I hang an SR-1 target and bench it at 100yds., If I can hold all them in the 10 ring, the TE and MW is good.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2012, 05:11 PM
MTC29 MTC29 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M1Garandy View Post
My TE gauge has three spacers. One for .30-'06 bolt guns one for .30-'06 M1's and one for M14/7.62 NATO Garands.

It is made by Ara-Mor I believe.

I have the same gauge and it is very handy...and cheaper than buying three specific gauges.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.