Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1A/M14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2012, 04:39 PM
buckshot85 buckshot85 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cowtown, Wis.
Posts: 2,746
Default Sadlak NM piston

Was looking to get one of Sadlaks NM Tin pistons. I plan to shoot commercial ammo more than surplus. Would there be any advantage to using the one with the groove for the heavier loaded commercial stuff? could always change the piston if shooting lighter loaded surplus, right??? I e-mailed Sadlak with the same question, but, no response. Thanks for any help.

Last edited by buckshot85; 06-10-2012 at 04:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2012, 06:41 PM
hammonje hammonje is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Union, KY
Posts: 4,524
Default

Unnecessary. Never used one in any of my dozen or more M1As. Doubt that little channel would affect much really. Seems gimicky to me. Save your money and buy spares....extractors, firing pins, and spring sets.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2012, 01:23 AM
d7cook d7cook is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 256
Default -

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckshot85 View Post
Was looking to get one of Sadlaks NM Tin pistons. I plan to shoot commercial ammo more than surplus. Would there be any advantage to using the one with the groove for the heavier loaded commercial stuff? could always change the piston if shooting lighter loaded surplus, right??? I e-mailed Sadlak with the same question, but, no response. Thanks for any help.
The answer is a definite maybe.

http://m14forum.com/gus-fisher/10989...-accuracy.html

The groove will relieve some pressure when using higher pressure loads and heavier bullets. One advantage is it should lessen the wear and tear on your rifle. The flip side is the rifle may not cycle when using nato spec ammo.
__________________
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2012, 03:07 PM
ramit ramit is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d7cook View Post
The answer is a definite maybe.

http://m14forum.com/gus-fisher/10989...-accuracy.html

The groove will relieve some pressure when using higher pressure loads and heavier bullets. One advantage is it should lessen the wear and tear on your rifle. The flip side is the rifle may not cycle when using nato spec ammo.

for what it's worth...

The build I had Fulton do, came with the Sadlak NM Tin piston.
I've shot about 1,000 rnds of mixed bag of nato surplus.
100% went bang, and 100% cycled.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2012, 10:25 PM
Hawk Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Long Island, NYistan
Posts: 131
Default

Sadlak will be the first to tell you that the groove was put in there for the heavier bullets and if shooting standard 145 - 147 grain bullets, it is not needed.
__________________
Semper-Fi! Hawk
USMC 71 - 73

www.m14br.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:20 PM
buckshot85 buckshot85 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cowtown, Wis.
Posts: 2,746
Default

thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2012, 02:51 PM
mikebaker1129 mikebaker1129 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Houston ,TX
Posts: 406
Default

The parts made by sadlak are works of art !
I have a few of the standard uncoated pistons and they are top notch even for one who is pickey like me .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.