Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1A/M14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2019, 12:36 PM
Snipesrule Snipesrule is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 142
Default How to install a NM Hooded sight on a M1A Loaded

Does anyone have any gouge on how to install a hooded aperture on a NM rear sight base? Looking for file or stone specifications, tips, and techniques to install and fit the hooded aperature. Not finding any detailed instructions out there.

V/R,

Snipesrule
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2019, 03:47 AM
Kerz Kerz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Eastern KY
Posts: 410
Default

http://www.fulton-armory.com/faqs/M1...MRearSight.htm
https://m14forum.com/m14/114612-swap...d-version.html
__________________
Preparedness+ Opportunity= Luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2019, 06:09 AM
Snipesrule Snipesrule is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2019, 08:00 AM
nf1e nf1e is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,151
Default

I like to use a Red diamond whetstone to narrow the aperture rail to fit snugly into the base. Take your time and try often. When I get it to fit really tight, I use some 600 grit compound and lap for smoothness.

__________________
Semper Fi
Art
Sgt USMC 66 -72
RVN 67-68
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2019, 08:33 AM
Snipesrule Snipesrule is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Worked on it last night.I used a file to taper the end of the sight so the aperture will not bottom out in the receiver well. I used another finer file for the fit; I got the sight to fit very tight so it can be inserted 80% in; I need to work on it further for the final fit. May pick up the 600 compound mentioned in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2019, 09:51 PM
Snipesrule Snipesrule is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Ok. NM site installation complete. But when I install the windage knob, it doesn’t click, it moves bit does not click. What did I do wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2019, 06:43 AM
nf1e nf1e is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,151
Default

A few possibilities would include the windage screw not tightened enough or even the possibility of a windage knob that is kaput.
Try taking it apart carefully and re-assembling with a little lube in the works.
__________________
Semper Fi
Art
Sgt USMC 66 -72
RVN 67-68
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2019, 12:29 PM
Snipesrule Snipesrule is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Will do, but I assembled it a bunch of times and even made sure it was tight. Will lube tonight. Grease or oil? How can the windage knob be kaput? It seems like a simple construction...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2019, 01:27 PM
nf1e nf1e is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,151
Default

What make receiver? If SAI, could you have allowed the spring and ball under the windage knob to have escaped?

Oil. And make sure, as you are putting it together, the D of the elevation pinion is entering the Windage nut before you start tightening. There are parts internal to the windage knob that can break. Usually it is the retainer clip in which case the nut comes out of the knob.
__________________
Semper Fi
Art
Sgt USMC 66 -72
RVN 67-68

Last edited by nf1e; 05-19-2019 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.