Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-09-2019, 02:03 PM

Default 1903 Rear Sight Collar Removal and Installation

1903 Rear Sight Collar Removal and Installation for a New Criterion 1903 barrel. Did a search and haven't found what I'm looking for in the "how to" section.
Thanks,
eaglekeeper
Old 02-09-2019, 03:14 PM

I'm no expert at removal, but here's how I would proceed.

(1) Remove the transverse retaining pin at the bottom front corner of the collar. The original pin is contoured on the ends to match the curvature of the collar and is not readily visible.

(2) Install an expendable (scrap) rear sight in the collar. And leave it installed until the collar is removed.

(3) Find or go buy a piece of steel pipe about 6 inches long that's the same diameter as the collar at the rear. If you can't find a pipe that's an exact match in diameter, then one slightly larger will suffice.

(4) Place the pipe at the rear end of the collar and, using a hammer, drive the collar off the barrel. If the pipe is slightly larger than the collar, then rotationally shift the pipe on the rear of the collar between hammer blows.

(5) If you see any evidence of rust or corrosion before starting, then soaking the collar and barrel overnight in a solvent would be prudent.

Good Luck!

J.B.

p.s.,

When you examine the collar at the rear, you will note a small longitudinal hole about the size of a pencil lead containing a metal pin. The pin is intended to keep the collar from rotating. The placement of the pin denotes the joint (circular seam) between the collar and the barrel.

Last edited by John Beard; 02-09-2019 at 03:18 PM.
Old 02-09-2019, 03:59 PM

Default 1903 Rear Sight Collar Removal and Installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Beard View Post
(5) If you see any evidence of rust or corrosion before starting, then soaking the collar and barrel overnight in a solvent would be prudent.