Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > Leg Matches
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2014, 08:53 PM
mmuraoka mmuraoka is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Default Alibi or saved rounds?

in an EIC match rapid sitting stage, targets came up and I sat down racked the charging handle and got into position. Pulled the trigger and dry fired, the mag had not pushed the first round up enough for it to chamber. after racking the charging handle 2 more times the round finally chambered and I shot my string in a rush for an 83-0.

Same thing happened to a buddy at today's Creedmoor Cup EIC. He saved two rounds after a couple attempts in getting the 1st round to chamber.

Is this a valid alibi and should I have stopped when the first round did not chamber, or would I have saved 10 rounds and scored a 0?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2014, 09:28 PM
aloreman aloreman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 2,874
Default

From what i have always been told there must be a round chambered for it to be an alibi. If the line official checks your gun and theres a round that didnt go off its an alibi. If its empty you just got a zero
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2014, 07:09 AM
X Hunter X Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aloreman View Post
From what i have always been told there must be a round chambered for it to be an alibi. If the line official checks your gun and theres a round that didnt go off its an alibi. If its empty you just got a zero
I think this is correct.

Lesson here is to stand, close bolt on empty chamber, insert mag, then pull down on the mag to be sure it is inserted and locked in correctly.
If the mag is not locked in the rifle correctly, you have a chance to tell your scorer the line is not ready while you correct the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2014, 11:12 AM
Maury Krupp Maury Krupp is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 17
Default

It's an alibi under CMP SR Rule 5.1.2 and NRA Rule 9.6(a):

"...If the bolt is closed and the striker has fallen, and there is an unfired round in the chamber or magazine, the competitor will be given an alibi."

Whether it's a good idea to use up your one and only alibi per stage (NRA Rule 9.14(c)) on what should be an easily fixed problem is up to you.

Maury
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2014, 11:33 AM
X Hunter X Hunter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,371
Default

Maury you are correct in your situation.

The OP stated: "Pulled the trigger and dry fired, the mag had not pushed the first round up enough for it to chamber."

In the OP's instance, it is to the competitor's advantage to correct the problem and continue with the string of fire.

Back when I was shooting for legs, I always made sure the mag was properly in the well by trying to pull it out before the line officer asked if the line was ready.

Another problem is that shooters, in their haste to start firing, fail to pull the charging handle to the rear far enough to allow the first round to strip off the top of the mag. Always be sure to pull the charging handle all the way to the rear; pretend like you're going to back hand the score keeper.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2014, 03:43 PM
aloreman aloreman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fl
Posts: 2,874
Default

i always seat my mag like im trying to push it thru the bolt
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2014, 05:45 PM
GGaskill GGaskill is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Arizona
Posts: 2,663
Default

I thought EIC matches were no alibi matches (excepting maybe range alibis.)
__________________
Only hits count.

"The trouble with most people is that they think with their hopes or fears or wishes rather than with their minds."--Will Durant
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-21-2014, 12:05 AM
tjtorborg tjtorborg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Blaine, Minnesota
Posts: 1,773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGaskill View Post
I thought EIC matches were no alibi matches (excepting maybe range alibis.)
There are plenty of alibis in a leg match. Just shoot the EIC match during service rifle week at Perry and you will see an alibi relay at both 200 and 300.

It's the games matches that don't have any.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-21-2014, 06:11 PM
wesvb wesvb is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Friendswood, Texas
Posts: 1,357
Default

It is an allowable alibi. It shouldn't be though. It is pure shooter error.
I have done it myself and got the alibi.
The rule should be clarified to negate shooter caused alibis.
For that matter bad ammo should be exclude also but there's no way to enforce that short of pulling the suspect round apart on the line.
Or better still. Treat an EIC just like a JCG/S/VM match and have no shooter alibis.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2014, 02:16 AM
GGaskill GGaskill is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Arizona
Posts: 2,663
Default

I think I was confusing the EIC match with the Infantry Trophy match (rattle battle.)
__________________
Only hits count.

"The trouble with most people is that they think with their hopes or fears or wishes rather than with their minds."--Will Durant
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.