Go Back   CMP Forums > Welcome Center > New Member Section
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 05-07-2010, 07:12 PM

Default Removing cosmoline from stock

Hi guys,

What is best and safest method to remove cosmoline from my CMP correct Garand stock. Thanks
Old 05-07-2010, 10:37 PM

This is a frequently asked question and there are several accepted methods. Most involve either heat or mild solvents.

Use the "search" function and see what you come up with. For some entertaining reading search for the word "dishwasher" while you're at it.
Old 05-07-2010, 10:46 PM

I'm brand new at this, so consider this advice with that in mind.

I just bought an M1D and had the same problem. Many on the forums talk about heating the rifle in your car (in the sun) in a black garbage bag to get the temp up to the 135 or so degrees that it takes to melt cosmo. Seemed a bit messy to me. Others talk about running it through a dishwasher to get it off. Worried me about soaking the wood too much. I took the advice to use mineral spirits to dissolve it off gently - worked well but left the wood dry and bare (but still had the authentic color, nicks, cartouches, etc., which is what I wanted). I didn't want to strip and refinish the stock (for authenticity, like you) so I used tung oil to coat and seal the wood. Several coats later, the wood was dry, clean, looked great, and wasn't sticky. Can't wait to take it to the range now.

Mike
Old 05-08-2010, 12:32 AM
Banned

Field strip and drop the whole thing, (lock, stock and barrel) into a tub of mineral spirits(cheap and easy to find) and leave it there for 24 hours. Then wipe off the gunk and apply some oil on the metal.
Do not dump said gunk down any drain. It's toxic. Cosmoline is thick petroleum jelly.
"...but left the wood dry and bare..." Yep. Ready for whatever wood finish you want. No big rush for the wood though.
BLO gives a flat finish. Just gets applied with a clean lint free cloth, then the excess wiped off.