Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > Garand, Springfield, Military Rifle and Rimfire Matches
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 03-20-2018, 08:26 AM

Default Gear for John Garand Matches suggestion

I’ve read the stickies but I am new to shooting the M1, or have not owned an M1 before so starting fresh.

En Bloc Clips

- I hope I didn’t mess up but I ordered 20 AEC-3 8rd clips, as well as one 2rd and one of the SLED clips from Ammo Garand. I dont know how easy it is to loose your en bloc at a match so my plan is to powder coat a few of the 8s, the 2 and SLED to Red to help me identify mine and make them easier to see/find.

I know with practice you can load 2rds in a standard en bloc but until then this is like training wheels.

Is is a bad idea to try to powder coat the clips, how often do you loose clips at matches or am I over thinking it?

Sling:

I used to shoot DCM/CMP with an AR so I have a turner sling on my mouse gun. I have also used both web sling and lighter leather slings on my 10/22s at Appleseed and NRA Rimfire Matches more recently (even that’s been close to 10 years now). I do prefer a leather sling if given the choice.

So, are leather slings allowed at John Garand Matches (as issued class)? If so, are there special rules on allowed leather slings? Next, what length sling works best with the garand (I am moderately tall at 6’2”)

Ammo

I bit the bullet and bought 400rds of Sellier & Bellot M2 Ball to get me started. My M1 order for a Service Grade just went in last week so I won’t have the gun until say May - July if the time projections are accurate so I may try to get another 400 rounds by then but I assume 400rds will let me shoot this season.

I expect I need to develop skill with the M1, but I assume this ammo should be good to go.

Targets and Cource of Fire?