Go Back   CMP Forums > Marketplace > Parts For Sale or Trade > M1 Garand
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-25-2009, 06:17 PM

Default WTS: M1 Garand gas plug wrenches, out of stock.

OUT OF STOCK, I'LL UPDATE WHEN MORE ARE AVAILABLE

Please email me, I'm not taking any PMs because I want to keep everything organized in one place.

I bought my first M1 last summer and after taking it apart to clean and inspect it, I found using a "make due with what you have around" (In my case a large flathead screwdriver) tool to remove the gas plug somewhat lacking. I thought that, being a machinists apprentice, I could make something better. I designed, milled, turned, assembled and inspected all these wrenches personally.

Features:
-CNC milled with radiused corners throughout.
-440C stainless steel handle with aggressive knurling cut out of the handle, as opposed to traditional "rolled on" knurling, which only displaces material.
-Wrench heads milled close to the axis of the handle to help keep the wrench from slipping out under torque.
-Wrench head made from O-1 tool steel.
-One side of wrench head fits WWII style single slot gas plugs, opposite side fits post war "+" shape style gas plugs.
-Wrench head and handle mated with 3/8x24 threads bonded with J-B weld.
-All sharp edges broken with an abrasive brush.

NOTE: The wrench head is "steel in the white", that's to say it is untreated and may show rust if not properly maintained. I recommend using a lightly oiled brush applied to the wrench head after each use and storage in the original VpCI packaging.