Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP General > CMP North Store
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-14-2012, 11:30 AM

Default My experience on the 13th

I hesitate to call this a store report as I am no expert and my exposure to the inventory was limited. I will explain this. I will begin with that it was a great day and made all that much better by the staff, particularly Jim, who took a great deal of time with my father and I. We cannot thank him enough.

We arrived at 0830 hrs and there was only one other party in the store and he already had a rifle in hand. This man was a good man, a veteran and secured an incredible find. a 5.9 Springfield that gauged very well and was correct save for the stock which was GI but not to the weapon. He took that home and I congratulated him on his good fortune. He deserved it.

I went to the Field Grades, Springfield's, and they were GI wood, mostly, and I found one that I liked. It had a NM barrel and OP Rod, GI stock and I was going to show it to staff for an opinion. Mr. Jim approached my dad and I and asked if he could assist us. I replied we could use all of the help he could offer. It did not occur to me just how much he would. He suggested I return the Field Grade as for 100 clams more he had some real gems in Service Grade. He said that National match barrels were desirable but not to base the purchase strictly on that item. I also explained to Jim that my Dad was a two war Marine who always wanted an M1 and unbeknownst to him, I was going to buy the weapon for him. My dad is 85 but still a trough old Marine at heart and loves the Garand.