Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > Smallbore
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 11-10-2020, 09:30 PM

Default Winchester 52B and 52D

Years ago (7 years ago, to be exact) I bought two Winchester target .22 rifles...a Winchester model 52B and a model 52D. Embarrassingly, I have not fired either rifle until this week.

I Recently started shooting in a 50 yard and 100 yard .22 rifle match at my local range and scoped both rifles so I could use them.

The 52B originally came with a Wittek-Vaver rear sight. I've also been told that it has a Canjar trigger. I put an EGW scope rail on it and shot it after the match today. I tried both Eley "Match" and Lapua Center-X. Both rifles seemed to like the Center-X better than the Eley.

I was a bit concerned about the EGW rail because it only attaches with the screw holes for the rear scope block. The groups look good, however. I put a Nikon 6-18 Buckmaster scope with a fine crosshair and target dot on the 52B (bottom rifle)

Here is the target for the 52B...5 shot groups @ 50 yards off a sand bag rest

Old 11-10-2020, 09:31 PM

I mounted a Ken Viani rail on the 52D and put a B&L 6-24 x 40 scope with a duplex reticle on it. I have more confidence in the Viani rail than the EGW, because it attaches at the rear scope block screw holes and the rear peep sight mounting screw holes. However, the EGW seemed to work just fine.

Again, the 52D seemed to like the Center-X batter than the Eley "Match"

Here are the groups for the 52D...5 shot groups @ 50 yards of a sand bag rest...

Last edited by Calfed; 11-10-2020 at 09:34 PM.
Old 11-11-2020, 03:16 PM

Yep. That's what they are for.
My complaint about the 52B is that all anyone has is 10-round mags for them, and that just looks hideous sticking out of the bottom.
My 52B is my Dad's rifle from the 30's, and I have original mags, and an original single feed mag for it.