Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Carbine
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-05-2010, 05:02 PM

Default Buying an M1 Carbine

I know a guy that is selling 2 M1 Carbines. One is a pristine Winchester and the other is a pristine Rockola. These rifles have not been rebuilt and appear to have all the correct parts. First question, if you could only buy one, which would it be, and what would be a fair price to pay? The uncle of a very good friend of mine is selling both. I haven't seen the rifles yet, but I will take the word of my friend that they are both outstanding rifles.

Thanks for you comments.
Old 01-05-2010, 05:08 PM

I'd make sure I bought both. lol. Personally, I'd say the Rock-Ola just because it's a musicbox Not sure what would be a fair price. I'm still new to carbines.
Old 01-05-2010, 05:09 PM

Default buying

Make them tell you what they want for them. I'd get the Rock.
Old 01-05-2010, 07:15 PM

+1 on the Rock. I've got a SG Winchester and really like it. But it's not any different than the other 8. You pay extra for the name, not because it's rear or better built. I fact I don't think the finish on my Win. is as good as all my others.
My RG Rock-Ola, on the other hand has a nicer finish and shoot better than the Win. A lot fewer Rock's were made than the Winchester. Even if it costs the same as the Win., I'd pick the Rock and save up to buy a Winchester.
The Win.'s hold no magic for me, it's just another carbine maker I've added to my collection. Now if only I could find a nice Saginaw S'G' ......
J.R.

Home of the FREE Carbine Club Newsletter Index raeed4@comcast.net
I do NOT have newsletters to sell! ONLY our INDEX of what is in each issue. To get the issues see the link for the Carbine collectors Club.
http://www.uscarbinecal30.com/

USAF 379th Bomb Wing (Heavy) SAC
Gun Owners of SC
GCA
Old 01-05-2010, 08:31 PM

Get them both!
Old 01-05-2010, 10:46 PM