X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Basstar
    • Nov 2017

To Weight Or Not To Weight

In reading the SR rules it appears that rifles not equipped with scopes may be weighted but rifles equipped with scopes have a lower weight restriction.

RRA sells both a buttstock weight as well as a fore end weight but with both added my calculations show the RRA NM with both weights added tipping the scales at 16 pounds or so. Also in watching some of the YT videos of SR competitions I hear mention of rifle weight but nothing in particular.

I'm a total newbie but it would seem the heavier weight would be a benefit in the prone positions but perhaps not so much in the standing offhand but what the heck do I know?

First, am I correct that this weight may be added for SR and secondly I'd like your opinions as to whether or not the added weight and especially that much weight is a benefit.

Thanks for helping the new kid.
  • Rootsy
    • Feb 2013

There is NO weight limit for a NM AR. I repeat, there is NO weight limit for a NM AR.

If you are reading the GAMES rulebook and looking at modern military AR then yes, 8.5 lbs max.
    Michigan Rifle & Pistol Assoc - State High Power Director
    Distinguished Rifleman #2297

Comment

• Gewehr43
      • Nov 2009

Originally posted by Rootsy View Post
      There is NO weight limit for a NM AR. I repeat, there is NO weight limit for a NM AR.

If you are reading the GAMES rulebook and looking at modern military AR then yes, 8.5 lbs max.

OP:
      What he said................

For the GAMES and Modern Military, there are weight limits.
      For Service Rifle, there is no weight limit..............
      Service Rifle.... RIP .... 1884-2015

Comment

• OpenSightsOnly
        • Sep 2010

Originally posted by Basstar View Post
        In reading the SR rules it appears that rifles not equipped with scopes may be weighted but rifles equipped with scopes have a lower weight restriction.