Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 06-28-2018, 06:41 AM

Default Sedgely 10/43 Barrel?

I know the common wisdom is that most later USMC barrels were not used,but I recently came across a 10/43 USMC "S" barrel with wrench marks on the barrel. Significant or old news?
Old 06-28-2018, 02:22 PM

Most late barrels were 43/44 DOM used for MC rebuilds. as you may know some were de-milled post ww2...although many were flat NOS and never damaged. Ck the bore for any signs of bending.. its my understanding they are quite good barrels. I just bought a 1903 mk1 with a NOS 44 barrel installed but have not shot it yet.
Old 06-28-2018, 03:15 PM

I've been tracking USMC rifles for about 20 years, and have cataloged or owned more than I could ever count.

As of right now, the last Sedgley barrel I have ever seen on a legit Marine M1903 is a 9/42 Sedgley.

I know there are about five or ten of us that are hardcore into USMC M1903's and we have talked on this many times. Usually one of us buys everyone that comes up for sale and we have a little group of us that we talk often. None of us so far have found a legit 1943/44 SEdgley barrel used on a for sure Marine M1903.

What I mean is every rifle we find with a 43/44 Sedgley, they look assembled in the commercial market.

I would be very curious to see the pattern of the vise marks. Since many of the patterns on the vise marks are identical.

My honest first thoughts are, the vise marks might have been done commercially. I've seen vise marks of someone using a pipe wrench to get a barrel off or on. Which the pattern is for sure not Marine.

I won't say it's impossible, but so far I've traced so many 43/44 SEdgley barrel M1903's and it's made me very, very skeptical they were ever used.
Old 06-28-2018, 04:09 PM

Sending you a PM . It's a live auction.
Old 06-28-2018, 04:59 PM