Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > CMP Rules
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-07-2018, 04:58 PM

Unhappy CMP Highpower Rifle vs. CMP Games Rules??

I am new to competition. I thought I would start by shooting in the Service Rifle category with a 20" RRA CMP 2016 upper, a UBR stock, and a NM trigger. All was fine and dandy until I contacted the local guys who have CMP GSM competition and lo and behold, they operate under the CMP Games rules and my rifle isn't compliant.

How would one know that CMP has two rulebooks with different rules? He was arguing with me that my rifle wasn't compliant when I pointed out all the places like RRA, Whiteoak, CLE, etc. that makes CMP Service Rifles. At that point he discovered the "other" rules that allowed such a rifle, but not into their competition.

I also discovered that the NRA High Power rules seem to allow my new rifle as well, so out of three sets of rules, only the CMP Games rules exclude me.

Is there more I need to know about all of this as I am confused and bewildered by all the various idiosyncrasies involved with these types of competitions. Thanks...

ps: Did you ever notice that CMP spells it Highpower and NRA spells it High Power? As if things weren't already confusing
Old 02-07-2018, 05:10 PM

One easy way to tell what rulebook will be used is how many shots are fired in the match, 30 vs. 50 or 80. Games matches are usually 30 round matches HP is usually 50 or 80.

Just go shoot high power and enjoy your new rifle.
NRA - XTC HP Expert
16 down / 14 to go!
Old 02-07-2018, 05:30 PM

CMP Games Rules ARE NOT the same as CMP Service Rifle.
CMP Service rifle is the same as NRA Service Rifle. (Well Rifle wise).

CMP Games are shot at 200yds only and usually are shot along with GSMM etc matches.
Service Rifle matches (which your rifle is set up for) are shot out to 600yds. They are shot as their own matches..................