Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-27-2014, 01:31 PM
TW56 TW56 is online now
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,617
Default

chuckindenver, after looking at a picture of the CMP Custom Shop bolt modification that I received via e-mail from customer service, your "reproduction" 1903A4 bolt looks better and is closer to an original A4 bolt than the Custom Shop turned down bolt is.

chuckindenver…..your 03A4 bolt reproduction looks closer to the original…."You win"

TW56

Last edited by TW56; 02-27-2014 at 01:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-27-2014, 09:18 PM
Chopper Chopper is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TW56 View Post
chuckindenver, after looking at a picture of the CMP Custom Shop bolt modification that I received via e-mail from customer service, your "reproduction" 1903A4 bolt looks better and is closer to an original A4 bolt than the Custom Shop turned down bolt is.

chuckindenver…..your 03A4 bolt reproduction looks closer to the original…."You win"

TW56
Can you please post the picture? For curiosity I'd like to see what it looks like.

Also, why would they say Remington only in the description? You'd think that any 03A3 bolt would be fine. Maybe they are thinking about mounting the scope base.

Last edited by Chopper; 02-27-2014 at 09:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-27-2014, 09:22 PM
dprice3844444 dprice3844444 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: se florida 01/sot
Posts: 5,545
Default

their work,their rules
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-28-2014, 07:41 AM
TW56 TW56 is online now
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chopper View Post
Can you please post the picture? For curiosity I'd like to see what it looks like.

Also, why would they say Remington only in the description? You'd think that any 03A3 bolt would be fine. Maybe they are thinking about mounting the scope base.
Two pictures received from CMP Customer Service after an e-mail request.



Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-28-2014, 08:12 AM
ceresco ceresco is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,807
Default

Readers may note that the repro base is thicker and the (M84)rings are higher than original. This makes bigger scopes and crude bolt handle conversions possible. Also note that a windage adjustment can close off clearance quite a bit..... Good Shooting......

Last edited by ceresco; 02-28-2014 at 08:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:53 AM
jgaynor jgaynor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chopper View Post
[snip}
Also, why would they say Remington only in the description? You'd think that any 03A3 bolt would be fine. Maybe they are thinking about mounting the scope base.
Same thing occurred to me Chopper. If the rules permit building an erstaz A4 on a Smith Corona receiver with an aftermarket barrel why would they care about who made the bolt?

Regards,
Jim

Last edited by jgaynor; 02-28-2014 at 09:55 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-28-2014, 09:59 AM
jgaynor jgaynor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TW56 View Post
Two pictures received from CMP Customer Service after an e-mail request.



Looks like a very credible job and a bargain for $100. in labor IMO.
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-28-2014, 11:06 AM
ceresco ceresco is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,807
Default

I doubt the CMP shop requirement has anything to do with the sniper match rules. They probably just want to work with a consistent product or it was simply an oversight. AFAIK, the bolt just needs to work--it doesn't have to be pretty--the A3 sporter bolts are a real mix. Good Shooting.....
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-28-2014, 01:40 PM
jgaynor jgaynor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,333
Default

Oversight or misunderstanding makes sense. SC and Remington A3 bolts are interchangeable. Presumably the subcontactor supplied spares are as well since they were made to the same drawing.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-28-2014, 02:29 PM
dprice3844444 dprice3844444 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: se florida 01/sot
Posts: 5,545
Default

they could be just trying to keep it all remington like the originals.plus,due to the sc's being hard as hell to drill and tap because of hardness.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.