Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > 3-Position Air Rifle > Competitors Corner
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 03-01-2014, 05:24 PM

Default Shooter Highlight (Junior): Chris Burns, Daleville, AL (3-1-14)

Shooter: Chris Burns
School: Daleville High School / Daleville, AL (Wiregrass Conference)
Coach: LTC (Ret) Chris Miller

I started shooting at a young age; 13 years old to be exact. I initially started shooting as part of class my LET* 1 year (Freshman year) in JROTC at Daleville High School. I was in Alpha Company of the Warhawk Battalion. Our SAI* at the time was LTC (Ret) Ralph Aaron. He saw the way I shot and started getting me to go to developmental training. After a few months of shooting, SAI Ralph Aaron put me on the rifle team. My LET 2 year was my first full introduction to the team. They all treated me as family and helped me out. I did not get to shoot in many competitions though because my talents were still developing. My LET 3 year (Junior year) was my main competition year. I became a top 4 member of Team 1 (four shooters make a team). My teammates were Katlyn Bass, Juan Escalante and Jared Nabinger. We maintained a close bond and always trained. That was my first real taste of action and I also started earning medals and EIC* points. By the end of that year, I had already earned 10 EIC points and was proud of it. I am currently in my LET 4 year and it has been amazing. I am the leader of Team 1 and the top shooter from Daleville. We, as a team, have shot in a lot matches and have won many of them and I could not be prouder of my team. I am also proud to say I recently became the 2014 Alabama State Champion. My plans after I graduate high school is to join the United States Marine Corps and become a Marine Scout Sniper. I ship out for boot camp in September 2014. Semper Fidelis!

*LET - Leadership and Education Training
*SAI - Senior Army Instructor