Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > 3-Position Air Rifle > Competitors Corner
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-10-2014, 11:59 PM

Default What's Your Style?: Preparation Period

I've been shooting for quite a few years and I've always noticed different routines and techniques that are out there. If you have ever been to a CMP Summer Camp then you may have seen the infamous examples that Olympian Dan Durben uses during his mental training class. 3-time Olympic medalist Matthew Emmons, sitting on the firing line at the Olympic Training Center meditating (or at least staring at something on the floor ). Then he shows former World Record holder and 2002 Air Rifle World Champion Jason Parker who is already suited up and dry firing while other shooters are still unpacking their equipment. There is no clear advantage. Matt and Jason put their shooting suits on one piece at a time just like everyone else, they just show up focused on their routine.

After being on the road for a few days and working two different competitions, I have been paying particular attention to pre-match routines. I'm really trying to recon ideas and information that I see issues with for future clinics or even blogs like this. There is generally one of three trends prior to the start of prep & sighting period.