Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Garand
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-10-2017, 10:47 AM

Default Advice requested on recent acquired garand

Just received a Garand purchased on a whim from an auction site. The barrel was shot out so I replaced it with a counter bored one I had laying around. After resolving most of my problems, mostly being NOT ejecting the spent cartridge, everything works correctly except it will not feed any rounds automatically. The enbloc was used in another rifle and functioned perfectly. I even tried a different enbloc resulting in the same miss feed problem. Its like a single feed operation. The ejected cartridges land exactly where they should, but I have to manually cycle every cartridge. Any suggestion would be welcomed. By the way I tried my ammo & enblocs in a CMP rifle and they worked perfectly.

Last edited by snuffy1a; 10-10-2017 at 10:49 AM. Reason: Corrected mis-spellings
Old 10-10-2017, 11:31 AM

I'm not a expert by any means, but I have yet to see a counterbored Garand barrel. Wonder if the lack of pressure from that counterbore is effecting the gas assembly.
“A citizen may not be required to offer a ‘good and substantial reason’ why he should be permitted to exercise his rights. The right’s existence is all the reason he needs.” —Federal Judge Benson Everett Legg

CTNC (IW) / 1995-Current U.S. NAVY
NAVY CHIEF, NAVY PRIDE!

http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=203599
Old 10-10-2017, 11:49 AM

Does the bolt close on an empty chamber rather than picking up the next round? Or does it pick up the round but not fully close?
Old 10-10-2017, 11:49 AM

That's what I thought was causing the ejection issue with the original barrel. It would completely swallow the bullet at the muzzle. So far I've changed the gas cylinder lock screw, the bolt asm. and the operating rod spring.
Old 10-10-2017, 11:50 AM

The bolt closes on an empty chamber and hand cycling the op rod perfectly feeds the next cartridge.