Go Back   CMP Forums > Welcome Center > Forum Webmaster
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2009, 11:34 AM
SteveR_1 SteveR_1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default Problems with Mozzilla Firefox

Hi,

I could not register with Firefox as a browser, I got this error:

Content Encoding Error

The page you are trying to view cannot be shown because it uses an invalid or unsupported form of compression.

* Please contact the website owners to inform them of this problem.

I registered with IE7 and then I could access the forums with Firefox.

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-27-2009, 12:50 PM
mousegun mousegun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: the oc
Posts: 782
Default

Odd. I use nothing but Firefox and Konqueror (PCLOS Linux). Forum came right up when registering with Firefox.

Could be a fast one Micro$oft pulled a while back. M$ has been forcing extension installs into Firefox to "enhance" your internet "experience". These extensions have caused security vulnerabilities, web page format incompatibiities and other problems hard to figure out.

Could be you got bit...

Not that M$ would ever do any intentional harm. It's hard while maintaining a hybrid server network for five family members in college, but I avoid buying software from convicted felons.Isn't worth the heartburn.
__________________
(o)(O)
----0000--(. .)--0000----
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2009, 05:37 PM
SteveR_1 SteveR_1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default

I don't think so, I use Firefox exclusively and just updated to 3.5.5. I know it is something with this server or the software that thinks I am spam or some such thing. It must be written for IE and you would think the writers would take into account the Firefox is much more secure than any Microsoft product.

I hope the webmaster will chime in on this.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2009, 06:04 PM
GhostInTheMachine GhostInTheMachine is offline
Forum Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: thecmp.org
Posts: 1,012
Default

I use Firefox with no problems on 3 different computers. I use Google Chrome at work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2009, 06:45 PM
SteveR_1 SteveR_1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default

So, this is just an isolated browser issue? Weird, how IE7 didn't have a problem, but the version of FF3.5.5 is not compatible? Have you heard about this before?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2009, 06:52 PM
mousegun mousegun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: the oc
Posts: 782
Default

Firefox here is 3.5.5 and like I posted above... no worries.
Problems may be centered around Windows or the presence of IE
M$ strikes again.
Mebbe.
__________________
(o)(O)
----0000--(. .)--0000----
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2009, 11:47 AM
H.S. Mantooth Jr. H.S. Mantooth Jr. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CA's San Joaquin Valley
Posts: 1,287
Default

Steve;

For what it's worth, for over a week or so, I had nothing but problems when I used IE. I think I gave the Ghost ulcers trying to fix my problem. When I visit the Forums now, I use Google Chrome. On my main account I still have IE but will be changing everything over very soon. Again, I'm having some issues there too.
__________________
03 FFL
CRPA Life Member
NRA (EPL) Member
GCA Member #5701
CMP Customer #110194
Regards.
Stan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2009, 07:36 PM
SteveR_1 SteveR_1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Hi Stan,

How does google chrome work, I have seen it on the search page, but wasn't sure if I wanted to use it.

I think most of the problems are from the security aspect of the forum's software, its hard to determine what is a real threat and how much does the software allow access to the forums.

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2009, 08:05 PM
OldGarandGuy OldGarandGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5
Default

The site itself may be blocking some people on the basis of IP /Domain etc even though an applicant may not have done anything to be blocked for. I used a blocker a couple years ago one an association website and unintentionally blocked some folks who were not a threat to the site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-2009, 06:40 PM
SteveR_1 SteveR_1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Hi,

Just tried Mozzilla Firefox and it works just fine now.

Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.