Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP General > Ask Each Other
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2019, 05:27 PM
Whitpusmc Whitpusmc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 623
Default M1D retaining zero question

I have a CMP M1D that I have a CMP scope mount and repro M82 on.

Iíve not been removing it for transport since I was concerned about it retaining zero with the no USGI mount. However I just had another rifle have itís scope mount broken in transport so Iím thinking about removing the scope and mount now when transporting.

What experience have others had with a recent CMP mount and zero repeatability?

I do have a USGI Mount that I could swap in, it has an M84 in it and I was saving that combo for display and not subjecting the original scope to the recoil etc.

What experience have others had with USGI M1D mounts and zero repeatability?

I hunt with this rifle and zero repeatability matters from an ethical hunting perspective.

Thanks in advance.

Whit
__________________
Whitney
3rd degree firearms enthusiast

My feedback thread
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2019, 06:38 PM
rcolarco rcolarco is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,545
Send a message via AIM to rcolarco
Default

There is no such thing as "repeatability" when removing and replacing scopes and mounts. You will almost certainly have to re-zero. Sometimes, however, you may get lucky and be close enough. But you won't know unless you shoot it. If you just re-mount the scope and go hunting, don't be surprised if you miss.
__________________
NRA-certified rifle (40 years), pistol, home firearms safety, and personal protection instructor
NRA-certified range safety officer
North Dakota and Maryland certified hunter safety instructor
ACEP-certified coach
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2019, 07:46 PM
lapriester lapriester is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cobb, N California
Posts: 16,388
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcolarco View Post
There is no such thing as "repeatability" when removing and replacing scopes and mounts. You will almost certainly have to re-zero. Sometimes, however, you may get lucky and be close enough. But you won't know unless you shoot it. If you just re-mount the scope and go hunting, don't be surprised if you miss.
This! Even with a USGI mount retaining zero would be near impossible. With a reproduction mount completely impossible. I've had to take my USGI mount and scope off of mine twice and even sith very care reinstallation some minor zero corrections had to be made. BTW, you can't just haphazardly install the mount. There is a specific way it needs to be done or it will shift under fire. With a repro, if it's maintaing zero now, for heaven's sake leave it alone. You may never get it back on correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2019, 07:58 PM
Whitpusmc Whitpusmc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 623
Default

I appreciate the responses, many thanks.

Is there any documentation on installing the mount so that it doesn’t shift under fire?

Last time I was out I had a bit of vertical stringing. Perfect windage but vertically strung.
__________________
Whitney
3rd degree firearms enthusiast

My feedback thread
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
m1d, retaining zero, zero repeatability

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.