Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > M1 Carbine
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-05-2010, 08:32 AM

Default difference between stock types?

Hello, Newbie, with a question, What is the difference between the different stock types for the carbines... I keep seeing references to 'high-wood' & low wood' etc. How do you identify each & which is consirered 'more desireable'. (if there's a consensous). Thanks!
Old 01-05-2010, 09:20 AM

I'm no expert, but here's my take on what I've learned to date...

I was trying to find some references online to point you to, but couldn't in my quick search.

For a collector, the most desirable is the one that was original or correct with that s/n, with all the correct markings.

This is just a simple over view....

The low / high wood, speaks to the section of the stock, by the oprod, you'll see a slot there (between the stock and handguard), where the rod can be seen. On low wood, there is less wood on the stock, and more of the rod seen. On high wood, there is a thin piece of wood on the stock that hides about 1/2 of the height of the oprod.
These stocks generally have a more slender look to them over all.

For shooters, many find the M2 potbelly stocks have a better feel.
The M2 stock was designed with some more wood between the front of the trigger gaurd and behind the barrel band. The stock looks slightly pregnant.
As I understand it, for the development of the M2 carbine (select fire semi-auto), a web had to be removed, and the basic slender M1 stock would crack, so the M2 potbelly was designed and generally considered a post war replacement stock. Which many like on a shooter. I have both a M1 WWII stock and M2, I can say I do feel the M1 is slightly ligher and more slender, and I find the potbelly fills my hand more when holding the carbine during shooting off hand standing.

Last edited by ramit; 01-05-2010 at 09:31 AM.
Old 01-05-2010, 09:23 AM

I found a pix on the web of high vs low wood.