Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > National Matches - Camp Perry
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 07-13-2017, 08:25 PM

Default Preparing for Perry.

Out of curiosity what type of mental and physical preparations do you make for Camp Perry? How many times have you been to the range this year? How many matches have you shot? Have you changed your rifle setup to the A4 rig with Optics? Are you shooting your Garand this year? How many rounds of ammo are you bringing?

I would love to hear some insight on you shooters who go and compete at Perry!

Last edited by 10thmountain; 07-13-2017 at 09:33 PM.
Old 07-13-2017, 08:55 PM

physically, i'm a cattle farmer so that's about all i'm motivated to do.

I don't really practice a mental side of shooting, other than the confidence I carry with me. it's not uncommon for me to shoot offhand while thinking about what i'm going to eat for lunch or wondering if my shooting jacket makes my butt look fat.

I converted to optics last year right before Perry.

I lost count of the amount of times I've been to the range.

probably 20 or so matches, reduced and full course.

i'm bringing enough ammo to shoot the Oliver hazard, P100, p100 shootoff, NTI and NTT as well as Hearst plus a few extra.

not shooting my Garand.

honestly, I don't really change anything or try to prepare for Perry other than remembering to pack pants and clean underwear. I treat Perry as just another match with cooler trophies. it's obviously a bigger deal than that but you get my point. i'm there to have a good time, hang out with my old friends, meet new friends, ******** off a couple of haters and if I happen to bring home something sparkly in the process, its been a good week.

Last edited by martydabney; 07-14-2017 at 07:05 PM.
Old 07-13-2017, 09:27 PM