Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 05-01-2015, 08:30 PM

Default Just How Dangerous is Overpressure?

Hi Guys,

So please forgive me, as I am a novice. Eight months ago I had zero knowledge about how to even start cleaning a gun. I just wasn't raised with the knowledge.

So...I purchased a 1903 from who I believe to be a reputable dealer. He described the bore as "very dark and rough." It was a former rifle used by the VFW for ceremonies. The TE was listed as a 7, ME listed as 1 or 2, can't remember. I specifically told him I wanted it to shoot, that I wanted something I could keep within 2" or so at 100 yards. He said no problem. So, I sort of knew what I was getting into, it was sold to me as a bore that would need work, but still it was being sold as a functional rifle.

When it arrived I couldn't even see the rifling, there was so much gunk in there. Cleaned cleaned cleaned, with probably five different products, over a combined period of maybe 8 hours, and took this rifle from seeing black-as-pitch soupy gunk coming out the bore to a relatively benign-looking light gray. I still can't get a clean patch through, don't think I ever will. But I can see the rifling pretty easily, even though the bore is pitted and a little rusted.

Took it to a gunsmith almost as an afterthought, because I figured if I could see the rifling I was good to go. And to my dismay the gunsmith tells me not to shoot it, that he's afraid the bore is too corroded. "The bullet may get stuck and the gasses travel around the bullet," he said. "The whole thing could explode." The gunsmith is definitely not an expert on historic rifles with barrels from 1942, I have a feeling he sees mostly AR's and Glocks. But he is a reputable guy.