Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Competitions > National Match AR
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 08-07-2016, 08:39 PM

Default Sticky glove- prone slow fire comfort

I am new to the AR and am trying to build a prone position. I find that holding a A2 type rifle back towards the mag well ihurts my wrist too much- I have carpal tunnel or something. I find that holding farther forward on the forend is very comfortable and I can get very good sling tension- I even run my sling shorter-
At present I can only shoot in matches- I don't have the opportunity to practice live fire. I have not fired the rifle with my support hand forward and am concerned about maintaining my hand placement.
Read some Zediker books and he says the Monard glove is the ticket- very sticky. Anybody know where I could get one of these? Any other suggestions would be appreciated
THANKS
Dan
Old 08-07-2016, 09:27 PM

The Monard hybrid glove is excellent. Highly recommend it. You can order from McKenna shooting sports in the US, or as I recommend, order directly from Monard on their website. If you order from McKenna and it's not in stock, you might wait months with no word. If you order directly from Monard in Sweden, you'll have it in a week or two. Follow the sizing chart, when in doubt, order the larger size.
Old 08-08-2016, 10:35 AM

Firstly:
I think most SR AR shooters in the prone shoot with the weak hand as forward as comfortable. Some push up to the sling swivel. So you are on the right track doing the same.

Secondly:
Generally, for me, and your mileage may vary, the sling tension provides enough "resistance" that I don't use/need alot of "stickiness" in the mitt. Instead I found my spot when I wanted to be, and put a piece of tape there to mark it and was done. My weak hand doesn't slide from there. All I do is when setting up, put my weak hand on the tape and done.

Of course I'm not saying, "Don't buy another mitt." Just that the one you have maybe good already.