Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP General > Ask Each Other
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 09-27-2012, 02:37 PM

Default Garand Gear Ported Gas Screw

I'm new to M-1 . would like to use it this year for deer hunting. Will the garand gear ported gas screw allow me to shoot commercial hunting loads (150gr) without damaging my op rod? Any thoughts or experiences?
Old 09-27-2012, 03:06 PM

Maybe. I have an opinion about universal fixes that are supposed to allow you to shoot anything. It's in wide use but I have concerns about long term negative effects so I just properly adjust my Shuster and don't worry (I rarely shoot commercial anyway because i reload). Buying an adjustable gas plug takes all the guesswork out of it. BTW, it's not a "ported" gas plug. It doesn't port off any gasses. The product has wide use here but just not by me.

Larry
Old 09-27-2012, 09:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbound View Post
I'm new to M-1 . would like to use it this year for deer hunting. Will the garand gear ported gas screw allow me to shoot commercial hunting loads (150gr) without damaging my op rod? Any thoughts or experiences?
I'm certainly biased when it comes to this topic. Hopefully others that have actually used the plug will chime in and provide you with their experience.

If you haven't seen the testing we've done on the plug please do so. I think It'll address your question. [Commercial Ammunition]

In every case that we've tested, the ported plug lowered peak pressures to levels below that of M2 ball. It also lowered the total impulse (ie. bolt speed) to levels that are equal to or less then that of M2 ball ammunition.

Of the hunting bullets the Sellier & Bellot SPCE 150gr was the most gentle on the rifle. I personally wouldn't have any concern shooting that cartridge in a M1 Garand even with a USGI gas screw installed.

For ranges of 150 yards and less the FUSION LITE 170gr is a very mild cartridge considerably weaker then M2 ball.

Eric