CMP Forums

CMP Forums (http://forums.thecmp.org/index.php)
-   Garand, Springfield, Military Rifle and Rimfire Matches (http://forums.thecmp.org/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   GSSM May 22 2021 Camp Perry (http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=278354)

Steve-OH 03-09-2021 11:33 AM

GSSM May 22 2021 Camp Perry

Can anyone offer any insights to a complete newb? From my understanding this match is geared towards learning the ins and outs of participating in cmp matches? Bought a M1 at the north store and would like to start participating. What equipment is essential? What would be the course of fire? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

ceresco 03-09-2021 08:11 PM

Fort Wayne Rifle and Revolver Club offers a high power clinic in May--Google them. This is the ideal way to start. Many other clubs similar orientation events, usually classroom instruction followed with an opportunity to shoot. The advantages over trying to learn at a match are obvious. Ask around and check local clubs. Good Shooting. .

Steve-OH 03-10-2021 06:36 AM

In reading the description of the match from the CMP I assumed this was geared towards new CMP shooters.

Competitors of all skill levels are welcome to attend these recreational events – designed to ease new marksmen into fundamental match procedures and to challenge seasoned athletes through friendly competition. Knowledgeable CMP staff members will be on hand at all events to ensure safety on the firing as well as to answer any questions that may arise

It further states "No EIC points will be awarded"

I've shot Clays competitively for years in Ohio and surrounding states. Witnessed the old veterans more than once ridicule the "Bubba" that showed up to shoot with his "Rabbit" gun during practice shoots. I just don't want to be "That Guy" who shows up, not knowing what's going on, and slowing things down for everyone else. :confused:

ceresco 03-10-2021 08:59 AM