Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP Sales > CMP Bolt Action Rifles > Mann Accuracy Device
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-29-2012, 09:36 AM
GYUSMC GYUSMC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW PA
Posts: 388
Default

Thanks fellas. I've had the best luck with sierra 135gr HPBT match and IMR 3031 so far. Never shot that load more than a 100yds, but it will keep em in a nice tight cloverleaf. Surplus ammo seems to stay in the minute and a half size, no matter the brand. Winchester, Radway, or M118 special ball.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-29-2012, 09:43 AM
kraigwy kraigwy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 1,068
Default

Am I the only one with a 5.56 Mann?

I guess I have to get the '03a3 308 device to be in the club.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-29-2012, 11:37 AM
VMFn542bob VMFn542bob is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kraigwy View Post
Am I the only one with a 5.56 Mann?

I guess I have to get the '03a3 308 device to be in the club.
You have the only .223 MANN I know of but there could be more. And there are other MANN devices out there, some 30-06s and in at least one case, a .308 with a 1:12 twist rate.
See Orest's comment at the link below, post #2.
I have two of the .308s. Once I have completed my MANN project I hope to buy two more of them, if there are still more to be had. I have 4 sons and would like to leave one of them to each of them or their children, but I plan to have them all ready to shoot without any modifications.
http://forums.thecmp.org/showthread.php?t=28263

Last edited by VMFn542bob; 06-29-2012 at 11:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-29-2012, 04:27 PM
GYUSMC GYUSMC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW PA
Posts: 388
Default

I believe they where made in 30 carbine also
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-29-2012, 04:29 PM
GYUSMC GYUSMC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW PA
Posts: 388
Default

Kraigwy, does your barrel have the collar on it? And your in the club buddy, size doesnt matter.......so they tell me

Last edited by GYUSMC; 06-29-2012 at 04:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-29-2012, 05:52 PM
kraigwy kraigwy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 1,068
Default

Yes Sir:

It don't look like it in the picture, but its one piece with the barrel.





Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-29-2012, 06:07 PM
GYUSMC GYUSMC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW PA
Posts: 388
Default

It's up to you, but I'm havin a lot more fun shooting the darn thing, then lookin at it. A heavy 700 stock should be easy to come by. You can always reinstall the collar.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-29-2012, 06:19 PM
kraigwy kraigwy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 1,068
Default

I am going to put in in some sort of stock. Hopefully without modifying it too much.

I figure it would make on heck of an F-Class gun.

I don't know if the collar comes off, looks like its part of the barrel. If so I'll just dig out the stock to fit the collar. I plan on bedding it from the collar on back unless some one has better ideals.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-29-2012, 08:03 PM
GYUSMC GYUSMC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SW PA
Posts: 388
Default

The collar should come off. Mine did. Think they used it when they put them in the vice.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-10-2012, 11:40 PM
VMFn542bob VMFn542bob is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,066
Default Some more targets and load data from Old Chief

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 AM.