Go Back   CMP Forums > Welcome Center > New Member Section
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 04-28-2021, 04:34 PM

Default New Member looking to ID Dad's S.A. 1903

Hello to the Group,
I'm KP, and I recently discovered that my old .30-06 Springfield might be an NRA Sporter.
I've been hunting deer with it for about the last 12 years, and until this past season the old 4X Lyman scope my Grandfather had mounted on it seemed sufficient... until I had to pass up a 400+ yd. shot at a trophy buck 'cause I couldn't see it well enough to shoot confidently in the fading light of dusk.
So, I went to Cabela's and bought my Christmas present (from my wife); a new Vortex Viper 4-16 X 50 scope. The gentleman who sold it to me took me to the Gun Library to make sure my old .30-06 was safe to shoot modern ammo in before I bought a new scope for it. He introduced me; and the librarian looked up my serial number and confirmed it would be safe to shoot. "Do you want to sell it?," He asked. I thought he was just politely asking, since Cabela's buys and trades guns.