Go Back   CMP Forums > CMP General > Ask Each Other > Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 05-15-2021, 09:23 AM

Default Case crimping

I read a recent post and crimping was brought up but I did not want to hijack that post so I am just gonna start another one.

I know that this will probably open a can of worms so I apologise in advance.

I have been reloading pistol for about five years and rifle just over a year. When reloading revolver rounds I roll crimp just enough to get the case mouth into the crimp groove and taper crimp auto rounds just a touch. With rifle I have been crimping "medium" (setting Lee dies as stated in the directions without further adjustment).

I think that I understand the reason for crimping, basically to keep the bullet from moving under recoil, but some of the things I have read just don't make sence to me. I will try to explain and keep it short. Obviously I will leave out "to keep the bullet from moving".

I also understand that crimping at some point will affect chamber pressure, but if it is consistent and does not show excessive pressure does it really matter?

Auto pistols,,,the crimp is to just to taper the case mouth just a bit to allow it to feed easier.

Revolvers,,,the only thing I have read is to keep the bullet from moving.

Rifle,,,the crimp is used to "seal" the mouth of the case. The crimp makes the rounds more consistent.

I am sure the "consistancy" claim could be applied to all types of ammo but I think consistency in loading is the key more so than crimping. Sealing the case mouth,,,there is a .001" interference fit so I would think that would seal the case unless the case was in a higher pressure environment, say at 500' under water.

I have also read that the military crimps the bullet and primer to keep them from moving because apparently there was a concern of the rough handling of the ammo in transport. Not something most of us have to deal with.